Chalkie's Talk

EDC3100 Blog

Introduction & First Lecture

4 Comments

Welcome to my blog!

My name is Emma.  I’m a third year primary education student at USQ.  I have grown up using ICT at home and school.  I used my first computer in 1999 at my preschool!  I feel very fortunate to have had access to this type of technology throughout my life.

Although I have used computers for most of my life, I have not had much experience with iPads and other Apple products.  These devices are available in many classrooms.  I hope to develop my skills in using different devices and programs this semester.  I’m looking forward to sharing this journey with you.  I hope that we can share ideas and resources with each other!

I had my first lecture and tutorial today for EDC3100: ICT and Pedagogy.  We got to play with a class set of iPads.  We filled in surveys and our lecturer got these results in real time.  I thought this was an excellent way of gaining student ideas and knowledge quickly.  Maybe this could be incorporated into my classroom at the beginning of the lesson to find out student prior knowledge and at the end of the lesson to see what students have learnt.  I’m interested in hearing what you think of this idea.  What other ways could you use student surveying through ICT?

Photo   License
4 thoughts on “Introduction & First Lecture

  1. Pingback: Student Surveying | daniblogsict

  2. Hey Emma,
    I am a third year secondary teacher but i study externally! That is so cool what you guys did in the first lecture and i completely agree with you that is an awesome ICT to add to a classroom! I think you could use student surveying through ICT’s for all different types of things. You could use to recap your lesson- see who understands and who doesn’t, implementing surveys using ICT’s for assignments! There are so many methods you can use ICT’s its crazy!

  3. Pingback: Survey Students in Real Time | Chalkie's Talk

Leave a Reply

